My younger sister and I like to joke that while we were growing up we lived in a Barbie doll house.  My mother made sure the house was spic-n-span every night before she went to bed.  You would not find a sock in the middle of the living room floor, or a shoe out of the closet!  Not a dirty dish in the sink.  And God forbid there was toothpaste spit in the sink! My friends would come over and were always impressed because our house was immaculate – as if no one actually LIVED there.  Of course, to see three kids lounging around in the living room gave it away, but there wouldn’t be things like Barbie dolls or Tonka trucks found in the living room!  No sir, toys only belonged in the bedrooms or outside.  

So, my housekeeping is on a totally separate norm than the Barbie doll house my mom kept. I often wonder if it is the generation gap or just my family.  My granny had an immaculate house – but then she was my granny and all her children were grown and on their own.  My sister keeps an immaculate house – and she is somewhat like my mother, not letting toys stay in the living room over night, etc.  Yet, I also know a lot of people my age that do not flip out if a sock is laying around – admit it, they walk there, because we know our children don’t leave ‘em there! If babydoll Rosie is laying on the sofa, or hot wheels are stacked near the transporter by the back door those mom’s don’t go all crazy and start having a melt down because a few toys are out of place. 

Yes, I admit it!  I do not keep a Barbie doll house!  I keep a lived in house!  By the time I get home from work and do the homework struggle, make dinner, give bathes, do a little laundry, check email, and any other chores that need done I could care less if the Ironman toy is on the kitchen table, socks didn’t make it to the basket, Legos are on the living room table and any other thing that is out of place.  I know that my kids are loved and have everything they should need!  If I don’t get to the dishes that evening because I’m making snacks for the next day for a party at school, it’s OK.  I have the next day to do it!  Why take those moments with my family for granted because I have a few dishes in the sink or toys in the living room?  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t live like a pig, but if toys are downstairs, WHO CARES?  Yes, I let the table pile up with junk mail, but we all sit around the table and eat dinner together as a family every night

Therefore, if anyone wants to comment on my housekeeping I will leave you with this thought – you can come in and do my housekeeping.  The laundry is waiting.  The dishes can be washed, dried and put up so I can have an immaculate kitchen.  Feel free to dust EVERYTHING.  The toothpaste can be cleaned out of the sink.  All those toys, please feel free to find a home for them!  Don’t worry, your job is secure, because it will be like that again the next day when you arrive.  However, while you are cleaning my house and making it into a Barbie doll model, please know that I’m teaching my two children the difference between right and wrong, I’m carting them to swim classes, I’m attending the PTO meetings to help the children’s school, I’m attending Scouting meetings and 4H events.  I’m there for my children, making sure I’m always in their lives, knowing they can count upon ME!  There will be a time when there are no toys in my living room, dining room, and kitchen.  There will be at time when I can keep up with the laundry.  Yes, there will be at time when I don’t have to clean out the spittle in the sink! However, right now, my children will always come before picking up toys and cleaning out the sink. . .

7/29/2014 01:48:58 pm

i hate you :-D

Reply



Leave a Reply.