It's that time of year again, when school age children shimmy into their new shirts and shorts, sandals or sneakers, smelling like brand new clothes!  I generally always loved the beginning of the new school year because my parents always bought us new school clothes.  I can honestly say I never remember starting school without a few new duds to start the school year off.  The older I got, the less I received, but still, even as an adult, I try to start the new year off with new clothes!

My husband and I were talking a few weeks ago and he asked "Why is is to important to have new clothes for the boys for school?  They have plenty."  I looked at him like his spaceship had just landed on earth and he had green skin and tentacles popping from his head instead of ears.  Yes, my boys have plenty of clothes; but, that isn't the point of school clothes!  School clothes are a tradition that my parents started, and I'm certain a majority of other parents have as well!  So, I looked at him and said "Did you not get new school clothes each fall?"  as if I didn't already know the answer, right?

"Nope.  My mom just bought us what we needed throughout the year."

So, I had to explain the Modricker tradition in our family (and probably 99% of American families).  That every year the boys would always have some sort of new duds to start school in.  They need to walk into school smelling like new clothes, their sneakers white and shiny (for all of one day) and feeling full of themselves, because who knows what the school year will bring.

When I was a kid, yeah, I was one of those families that wasn't 'well off', but my mother always made it a point of getting us a few new outfits, jeans, etc.  I can clearly remember one summer when my Granny took my mom and I to the JCPenny that was in town and purchased a few outfits for me for my first few days.  Later in the week my mom told me "Don't tell Pappaw that Ma'amaw took you to JCPenny!" because that day my grandpa's wife took us to Val's and bought us clothes as well.  They were horrid boys jeans because I was a 'heifer' then and she didn't want to fork over the money for a pair of jeans in my size for girls!  That was probably the only time I let my grandpa and his wife buy me clothes.  Yet, I had my newly (hated) clothes for school.

So, the tradition has been passed along and my boys are starting school tomorrow with their new clothes!  You have to admire Kmart for continuing with their lay-a-way department!  I only wish Meijer and Walmart would reopen theirs!  Maybe then I could stimulate the economy more, as well as other parents that need these types of services?  My parents always used layaway for school and Christmas and that has continued as well. . . .Yes, they have instilled lots of awesome qualities into me!  I only hope to do the same with my children.

The spaceship took off quickly after I explained the tradition.



Leave a Reply.